On this page:

The Northern Region includes Victoria’s share of the River Murray and the major Victorian tributaries that flow north into it. Major urban centres in the region include Wodonga, Wangaratta, Benalla, Shepparton, Bendigo, Swan Hill and Mildura.

The Northern Region Sustainable Water Strategy was published in 2009 and includes policy statements and 51 actions for implementation at a regional and local scale.

Actions status

A stocktake of actions in 2016 identified that 44 of the 51 actions in the Northern Region SWS have been completed or are ongoing.

A number of remaining actions are linked to the Murray-Darling Basin Plan, which was signed into law by the Commonwealth Minister for Water on 22 November 2012 and sets new sustainable diversion limits on water consumption in northern Victoria.

The below provides information on the status of each action considering the stocktake of the actions in 2016.

Page last updated: 08/09/23