About the program

The Victorian Waterway Management Program is based on an 8-year adaptive management cycle where learning occurs at all stages and is used to update and improve the program in subsequent cycles (see Figure 1 below).

It comprises 3 main phases:

  1. strategy and planning
  2. implementation and monitoring
  3. evaluation and reporting.

Community participation, research and innovation occur across all parts of the program.

The Program is a partnership between the state government, Traditional owners, regional agencies and authorities, other management partners and local communities.

As part of the program, the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA) is responsible for establishing the state policy framework for waterway management.

Waterway managers lead regional implementation from our 9 catchment management authorities and Melbourne Water in Port Phillip and Westernport region.

The eight-year adaptive management cycle of the Victorian Waterway Management Program

The Victorian Waterway Management Program comprises three main phases: Strategy and planning, implementation and monitoring and evaluation and reporting.

Page last updated: 08/09/23