The Victorian Waterway Management Program is based on an eight-year adaptive management cycle where learning occurs at all stages and is used to update and improve the program in subsequent cycles (see Figure 1 below). It comprises 3 main phases:

  1. strategy and planning
  2. implementation and monitoring
  3. evaluation and reporting.

Community participation and research and innovation occur across all parts of the Program.

The Program is a partnership between state government, regional agencies and authorities, other management partners (such as Traditional Owners) and local communities.

As part of the program, DEECA is responsible for establishing the state policy framework for waterway management. Regional implementation is led by waterway managers from our 9 catchment management authorities and Melbourne Water in Port Phillip and Westernport region.

Figure 1: The eight-year adaptive management cycle of the Victorian Waterway Management Program.

Page last updated: 27/01/23