The State Government owns all 19 water corporations and appoints non-executive directors to the water corporation boards (around 150 in total).

Directors must be suitably qualified, experienced and represent all Victorians, so we’re engaging the community and increasing diversity in water sector leadership.

Board directors come from all walks of life. They can be farmers, small business owners, project managers or other professionals. Because they have different experiences, they bring a range of different skills to water corporation boards including:

  • financial and commercial management
  • natural resource management
  • climate change
  • strategy and business management
  • infrastructure and project management
  • corporate governance

We’re proud of the gender equality on our water corporation boards: since 2015 at least 50 per cent of all appointments have been women.

The next round of water corporation board appointments will take place in 2019. We’re encouraging Aboriginal Victorians, people with disabilities, people who are culturally or linguistically diverse, and individuals from the LGBTIQ community to become non-executive directors.

Board appointments 2019

In September 2019, new directors were appointed to all Water Corporation Boards and Catchment Management Authorities across Victoria, bringing fresh skills into the sector to ensure that water corporations reflect the communities they represent.

Over 800 candidates applied, with an increase in Aboriginal Victorians applying. Independent selection panels with strong water industry, stakeholder and public sector governance expertise interviewed 259 candidates.

Gender balance across all boards is now 53 per cent women and 47 per cent men, with women occupying 18 of the 29 chair positions – up from seven prior to 2015. Twelve Aboriginal Victorians have been appointed to CMA and water corporation boards – up from zero before 2015, and six in 2015.

From the 19 water corporations and 10 CMAs, there are 120 new and returning board members who commenced on 1 October.

Page last updated: 11/10/19