South Gippsland Water logoSouth Gippsland Water provides drinking water, sewerage, recycled water and trade waste services to a population of more than 31,000 residents and 3,000 businesses in the South Gippsland region of Victoria.

Its service area covers 4,000 square kilometres and stretches along the coastline from Cape Paterson in the west to just beyond Port Albert in the east. Its northern boundary extends from Nyora to Devon North.

Sector Block 1 icon

4,000 km2

Service Area

Sector Block 1 icon


Population Served

Sector Block 1 icon



Sector Block 1 icon


85% residential
Urban Customers

Sector Block 1 icon

4.5b litres

44% residential
Drinking Water Supplied

Sector Block 1 icon


Annual Revenue

Want to know more? View the data for all 18 water corporations

Service area

Local government areas served by South Gippsland Water include:

  • Bass Coast
  • South Gippsland
  • Wellington

Stylised map of service area. Contact South Gippsland Water for more information 1300 851 636

Note: This map is indicative only. Please contact South Gippsland Water for more accurate and up-to-date service area information. You can also use our interactive map to find out whether your location is serviced by South Gippsland Water.

Water sources

South Gippsland Water supplies drinking water to customers from open catchments. This means that all or part of the catchment area is privately owned, and access and use is largely unrestricted. (In contrast to a ‘closed’ catchment where the catchment area is publicly owned and controlled.)

These catchments are part of 10 separate water supply systems across South Gippsland Water’s service area. Within these systems water is sourced from the Agnes, Tarra, Little Bass and Tarwin Rivers, as well as Foster Dam, a variety of creeks, and a groundwater aquifer.

More detailed information about water sources can be found in South Gippsland Water’s latest Annual Water Quality Report.

Assets at a glance

South Gippsland Water operates and maintains a range of assets, including the following water and sewerage infrastructure.

water supply systems
water treatment plants
km of water mains
water pump stations
service storages
sewage collection systems
pressure sewer systems
sewerage treatment plants
km of sewer mains
tradewaste system
sewage pump stations

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for South Gippsland Water’s strategic planning and is accountable to the Minister for Water for the corporation’s performance. The Board is supported and advised by the Executive, who oversee the corporation’s day-to-day management under the leadership of the Managing Director.

Find out more about South Gippsland Water’s Board of Directors and how they are appointed.

More information


Address: 14-18 Pioneer Street, Foster VIC 3960

Postal: PO Box 102 Foster VIC 3960

Phone: 1300 851 636


The information on this page was sourced from South Gippsland Water’s 2017-18 Annual Report and 2016-17 Annual Water Quality Report.

Page last updated: 19/10/22