The Our Catchments, Our Communities Leadership Development Grants Program recipients for 2019 have been announced by Minister for Water the Hon Lisa Neville and Deputy Secretary Helen Vaughan.

This year’s four recipients join 8 other winners from the 2017 and 2018 rounds of Leadership Grants. The program runs over four years until 2020.

These grants of up to $10,000 provide the opportunity for study and research, travel, training and other forms of professional development in natural resource management. The grants are awarded under three categories:

  • Women in leadership
  • Innovation
  • Aboriginal leadership.

The grants program is aimed at supporting Victorians to develop their skills, leadership, and knowledge in integrated catchment management and are a key initiative of the Our Catchments Our Communities Integrated Catchment Management in Victoria 2016-19 Strategy.

The 2019 recipients are:

Jennifer Emeny, Member of the Glenelg Hopkins Advisory Group and Open Space Planner at Warrnambool City Council, who is seeking to undertake study with the Australian Institute of Company Directors to assist her in achieving effective NRM-related board representation in the future.

Jacqueline Salter, Facilitator of the Morning Peninsula Landcare Network, who will attend the 2019 Women’s Leadership Program to develop her leadership skills. Jacqueline will use her experience to establish a mentoring program on the Mornington Peninsula and surrounding areas to support women who are passionate about integrated catchment management.

Danny Pettingill, Facilitator of the Loddon Plains Landcare Network, will undertake training at the Australian Groundwater School and the Mulloon Institute to better learn about hydrology and natural sequence farming. The knowledge can be utilised throughout the Loddon Plains area of Central Victoria and help introduce new land management practices for adapting agriculture to drying climates.

Melinda Kennedy, Aboriginal Water Officer at Wathaurung Aboriginal Corporation, will visit two key South Australian water precincts and talk first hand with their key management bodies about innovation, strategy, water trading and conservation initiatives in integrated catchment management. Melinda will share her key learnings with other Aboriginal Water Officers back in Victoria.

2019 OCOC grant recipients pose with Water Minister Neville and Water Deputy Secretary Helen Vaughan

Jacqueline Salter, Melinda Kennedy, the Hon Lisa Neville, Danny Pettingill, Jenny Emeny, Deputy Secretary Helen Vaughan.